“The pain from an old wound”: rhetoric and copywriting

“It’s not called the wheel. It’s called the carousel. It lets us travel the way a child travels. Round and around, and back home again, to a place where we know we are loved.” AMC still image from http://www.brandsandfilms.com.

I recently came across this article, which discusses the role of rhetorical tropes and schemes in advertising copywriting. It was published the same year I finished my thesis, so I wasn’t able to include it among my sources at the time. Some of its own sources are familiar, however, so it’s gratifying to see that someone out there shares my interest.

Is analysis of metaphors and other figures in writing a bit of a buzzkill? Maybe, for some. I, myself, love the taste of words, the etymology and the connotations of particular word choices. Also, not all of us are magical Don Drapers who simply furrow our handsome brows for a moment before spitting out something dazzling.

Leave a Reply

