Blast from the past: “Lou Grant”

Today, I’m adding this show to my must-watch list.

I’ve always had a soft spot for Ed Asner (I’m firmly convinced that anyone who doesn’t like him lacks a soul or a heart) but I’m just a teeny bit too young to remember this show first-run. When I was 4, the only show that stuck was “The Dukes of Hazzard.”

Since then, my interests have diversified beyond good ol’ boys and car chases, and I’ve always loved to see how TV shows and movies misrepresent newsrooms — remember a little movie called “Never Been Kissed“?

This show, however, sounds like one that got it right, and the endless parade of late-’70s and early-’80s guest stars is borderline irresistible.

Episodes of “Lou Grant” are available online to Hulu Plus subscribers.

 

Leave a Reply

