Fun Friday roundup

The Kennedy Center: about one mile from work and two miles from home. Tonight, I discover the joys of its nightly free concerts. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

The Kennedy Center: about one mile from work and two miles from home. Tonight, I discover the joys of its nightly free concerts. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

Book editing continues. Four chapters have been laid out, and three more are in various stages of revision. So far, the client has only asked for substantial rewrite of one chapter. The schedule is out of whack, but not as of out whack as with some previous projects (before my time). So I keep trucking, aiming for quality and consistency, and kicking myself every so often for missing some major AP style thing.

The latest: Presidents, on first reference, get a first name. On second reference, just the surname, not “President Surname.” How’d I miss that? Cripes. (Edited to add: It’s a style change instituted in 2008, the year I left daily journalism. That’s why.)

Also, I might have inadvertently pissed off my author via Gchat. Note to self: Keep off-the-cuff Gchatting to a minimum when pressures run high.

Enough shop talk. Here’s a glimpse at what I’m looking at online.

  • Buzzfeed. Totally addicted. They know how to catch people’s attention. Headline of the day today: “Mark Wahlberg’s Campiest Sex Moments in ‘Fear.'”
  • Pinterest. I’ve had an account for more than a year, I think, but I don’t do a lot of pinning. In fact, I enjoy it more as an anthropological experiment. It showcases our dreams of our best, most creative, healthiest selves: the food we’d prepare and eat, the crafting projects we’d conquer every weekend, the rooms we’d live in and the clothes we’d wear. Voyeurism at its most populist.
  • A few unlinkables: weekly email roundups from two of my colleagues. One is our “Friday Tech Inspiration” email, which is a list of interesting sites and news items pertaining to content curation, history and technology integration. The other is “Totally Tragic Thursdays,” a passionate if tongue-in-cheek primer on goth and punk music, complete with detailed band bios and audio files for  two or three songs. I love working with people who are smart and interested in sharing what makes them tick.

Tonight, I’m tearing myself away from glowing rectangles long enough to enjoy a free concert at the Kennedy Center and dinner in Georgetown. If that makes my life sound exciting and important, fear not — I’m wearing frayed jeans and Toms, and I doubt I’ll be rubbing elbows with Sonia Sotomayor anytime soon.

Till next time!

 

Leave a Reply

