A conversation stuck in neutral

This is probably what I look like when I get excited about editing. Which probably isn't helping the cause. Image from www.wallppict.com

This is probably what I look like when I get excited about editing. Which probably isn’t helping the cause. Image from http://www.wallppict.com

I’m passionate about educating people about the benefits of great editing. So much so that I’m trying to hold myself in check when I’m talking to people about it, lest I go all crazy-eyed preacher on them. I probably fail most of the time.

I feel as though I repeat myself a lot here, but I’m confident that’s not much of a problem since my total hits still don’t add up to the number on my biweekly paycheck. And, since we’re talking about money, it’s not as if this thing is monetized, so it’s all just one big vanity exercise anyway, right?

Clearly, though, the masses still need to hear the editing gospel. People I admire, including Charles Apple, Andy Bechtel and John McIntyre, regularly illustrate a variety of reasons why we need smart people to both fix writing and ask questions that help make writing better.

Still, it feels as though the conversation isn’t going anywhere. More and more ex-journalists are infiltrating the corporate world, which is great. What about beefing up professional writing and editing skills among professionals in other fields, or encouraging a double-major for those particularly ambitious whippersnappers? Where are these ideas gaining traction (aside from the few classes led by universally beloved elder statesmen like John McIntyre)?. People with poorly written resumes, allegedly the measure that separates the mouth-breathers from the go-getters, get hired all the time. We point and laugh at dumb mistakes and move on. It’s a symptom of the Facebook/Tumblr/Twitter age.

Part of me wants to re-infiltrate academia, but I’m not sure what that would accomplish (or how I would persuade a graduate program to accept my vague editor-demagoguery). The digital age doesn’t facilitate close and careful examination of language and ideas.

 

 

Leave a Reply

