A new review and recommended reading

 

After finishing "Bobcat and Other Stories" and "Gone Girl," I'm going back to my happy place: the Patty Hearst Kidnapping. "Trance" is one of the more interesting books that tries to interpret the events of 1974-75. Photo of Hibernia Bank robbery from www.fbi.gov.

After finishing “Bobcat and Other Stories” and “Gone Girl,” I’m going back to my happy place: the Patty Hearst Kidnapping. “Trance” is one of the more interesting books that tries to interpret the events of 1974-75. Photo of Hibernia Bank robbery from http://www.fbi.gov.

My review of “Bobcat and Other Stories” by Rebecca Lee was published in the News & Observer this weekend. I don’t normally read short-story collections for fun, so it was a great exercise in re-disciplining my focus and expectations.

Now, it’s back to the dusty stack on my nightstand for a few more weeks (another review is due in August). I just finished reading “Gone Girl” and loved it; the suspense was evocative of “A Kiss Before Dying” by Ira Levin, one my favorite books. I’ve also got a few nonfiction titles in the wings, but am taking a breather by re-reading “Trance” by Christopher Sorrentino, a fictionalized account of the Patty Hearst kidnapping.

Leave a Reply

