Dog days of summer

Welcome to the dog days of summer. I shamelessly post a cute dog picture to illustrate how hot it is, how tired I am and how much I like bulldogs. Photo from www.lifeinthedoglane.com.

Welcome to the dog days of summer. I shamelessly post a cute dog picture to illustrate how hot it is, how tired I am and how much I like bulldogs. Photo from http://www.lifeinthedoglane.com.

All’s been quiet on the blog front lately, but not in real life. An impromptu trip to the Midwest last week came amid a hurricane of work, as deadlines piled up for manuscript chapters, corporate vignettes and exhibit work. I’ve worked many long, somewhat nerve-wracking days this summer, but I really love it. Nothing can take the place of helping produce a newspaper every day — but meeting short-term goals for a big project and making others happy comes close.

On top of that, I’m reading a fascinating novel that’s coming out next month and feeling awfully lucky that I get to write a review of it. It’s gorgeously cinematic, morbid and poetic, set in New York and illustrated with a variety of research material in the form of fictional New York Times stories (shown as they would appear on the Web, with a browser frame and address bar), interview transcripts and online message boards. The story itself is old-fashioned (like “A Kiss Before Dying” or “Gone Girl”), but the tools of storytelling and suspense are very 21st century. It’ll be interesting to see how it holds up in 10 or 20 years.

I have had exactly zero blog hits for the past two weeks, so I don’t expect a lot of people to read this entry. No big deal; I’d rather save my traffic mojo for when I promote the actual review of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

