In lieu of coherent thought

I do most revision using Word's tracking feature and comment bubbles in PDF, but I still carry a red pen. Passive-aggressive? Maybe. Image from www.copyediting.com.

I do most revision using Word’s tracking feature and comment bubbles in PDF, but I still carry a red pen. Passive-aggressive? Maybe. Image from http://www.copyediting.com.

I wish I had a mental pedometer that tracked how many words per day I’m reading, because that number is high.

I’d love to publish here a brief essay on something that’s important to me right now. Instead, I’ve rounded up a few interesting links for your reading delight.

Copyediting Isn’t for the Timid. As much as I hate “copyediting” (one word), I agree with the sentiments of my industry colleague Mark Allen. Editing requires that ever-elusive balance of common sense, intelligence, forcefulness and subtlety. My lack of people skills often gets in the way as I cultivate those qualities, but lordy, I do try.

25 Common Phrases That You’re Saying Wrong. Most of these are spot-on. A few are disputed. But the conversation is worth having. I have found that reading widely has helped imprint the proper phrases in my tiny brain; others appear to absorb them in conversation only. It’s like playing telephone. Is there a linguistics paper in here somewhere?

Jim Romenesko showcases an awesome newspaper cover. And that’s all I’ll subject you to in regard to the royal birth.

Midnight in the Garden of East Texas. I’m a longtime admirer of Texas Monthly, so it didn’t come as a surprise that this investigative piece on the death of a wealthy Lone Star State matron inspired the movie “Bernie” (which I enjoyed upon the realization that Jack Black was playing it straight).

 

Leave a Reply

