A busy editor’s wish list

The Guess Who sang "No time for a summer friend/No time for the love you send/Seasons change, and so did I. You need not wonder why." Not that editing is like war, but it does eat time. Photo from www.audio-music.info.

The Guess Who sang “No time for a summer friend/No time for the love you send/Seasons change, and so did I/ You need not wonder why.” Not that editing is like war, but it does eat time and leave a girl a bit battle-scarred. Photo from http://www.audio-music.info.

The past few weeks have been extraordinarily busy. I love having a full slate, but I wish I had more time to reflect and find ways to refine my own processes. There’s that word, process, that I have always hated. It’s an ugly, project-manager-type word that unfortunately is a necessary evil if I’m going to do more than the sit-in-the-garret-dreaming type of editing and writing.

So, here’s my professional wish list of the moment.

  1. Time to reflect on how to work better
  2. Time to research best practices for editing for corporate clients
  3. More book review assignments
  4. Local freelance, possibly arts or film reviews
  5. A group of like-minded writing and editing pros to meet with (yes, this slipped down the list)
  6. The opportunity to take a graduate-level course in something creative and interesting

Till I can check a few items off this list, I’ll settle for short-term work milestones. Stay tuned for some fun portfolio updates in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

