Words, words, words

I reviewed a bound proof of Book No. 1 on Friday afternoon. Surreal.

I reviewed a bound proof of Book No. 1 on Friday afternoon. Surreal.

The winding down of summer is coinciding with the winding down of a few of my projects, small and large. Most notably, Book No. 1 is on the press today, which means I should have a copy in my hot little hands before my birthday. This book was really a labor of love. I got to work with an incredible team, both internally and externally. I couldn’t have asked for a better first-book experience.

Also, my review of Marisha Pessl’s “Night Film” was published this past weekend. I have mixed feelings about both the book and the review, partly stemming from a conversation with friend and fellow editor Jim Thomsen (the consummate freelancing cheerleader). I loved the first two-thirds of the book and found myself disappointed by the last third. Was my review too complimentary? Did I soft-pedal it? In short: Probably not. I wanted my review to reflect my enthusiasm for the things the author did well, and I do want people to read the book. Trouble spots aside, the book’s not a stinker, by far.

No new reviews lined up, but lots of titles on my library reserve list, including:

In the past few weeks, I’ve reread Philip Roth’s “Goodbye, Columbus” and parts of Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods” (which is as close to sci-fi/fantasy as I get). Aaaand the love affair with words continues.

Leave a Reply

